.

Sleepy Hollow Trustee: Shocked by Lawsuit

Tarrytown should drop it, writes Sleepy Hollow Trustee Bruce Campbell of the notice of appeal Tarrytown issued after the court's dismissal of their GM lawsuit.

Editor's Note: The following comes from Sleepy Hollow Trustee Bruce Campbell, who wished to note that this is his own statement and not intended to come from all Trustees. He can be reached for additional comment at brucec7777@aol.com. Have a letter to the editor you'd like to share with our readers? Send it to krista.madsen@patch.com. You can also blog it by clicking here.

As a Sleepy Hollow Trustee I am shocked and perplexed that Tarrytown has filed notice of appeal in its lawsuit against the Village. A month ago a State Supreme Court judge issued a sweeping decision, ruling that allegations made by Tarrytown in the suit were either without merit or had no standing. Since Sleepy Hollow’s position in the case had already been upheld in separate rulings, Tarrytown had every reason to expect it would lose. Yet Tarrytown’s Board spent tens of thousands of taxpayer dollars in court, forcing us to do the same. Now, after a resounding defeat, it proposes to spend tens of thousands more on what is surely a lost cause. This frivolous lawsuit has cost both villages dearly and delayed the start of the badly needed development on the General Motors site, a development that will benefit the entire area.

Especially troubling is Tarrytown’s misleading assertion that Sleepy Hollow must use part of the funds it won in long, difficult negotiations with GM to mitigate traffic impacts on Tarrytown. This is not true. Nothing in the agreement with GM or the judge’s decision requires this. Those funds are for Sleepy Hollow infrastructure. The judge found that Sleepy Hollow has done all it must do regarding mitigation of traffic.  

The Tarrytown Board should drop its appeal and should do so immediately. In the best interest of both its residents and ours it is time to move on. We need to tackle problems created by the growth of both of our villages as neighbors, not with protracted and costly lawsuits. Sleepy Hollow applauded the Hudson Harbor development in the interest of our shared community. We would welcome a similar sense of community from Tarrytown’s leaders.

Like us on Facebook  |  Follow us on Twitter  |  Sign up for our newsletter

wanda October 09, 2012 at 01:25 PM
Bruce Try offering Drew Fixell a 1OO SOLAR PANELS ,2 WIND MILLS,ANOTHER USELESS ELECTRIC VAN, NEW SET OF SAFETY POLICIES,SOME COMMON SENSE AND A NEW HOUSE BACK WHERE HE CAME FROM ! SOON FIXELLS DAMAGE WILL BE SEEN BY ALL .
wanda October 09, 2012 at 01:28 PM
Fixell should spend less time srewing with Sleepyhollow and assist the residents with the plan's for the Tappan Zee Bridge
John October 09, 2012 at 02:06 PM
I say take down the H bridge that goes into sleepy hollow and let all the trafic go thru sleepy hollow. limiting thru traffic thru Tarrytown would make them think twice. If every car has to go up Beekman ave then we will be happy in Tarrytown. metro north is spending alot of money fixing up the area around the station and if all that traffic go thru tarrytown who is going to pick up the expence of repairs down the road and pay for all the overtime for traffic management who sleepy hollow yea right they would be tring to divert every car across the h bridge so they do not have to go thru sleepy. as far as fixell you all had your chance the majority of you did't care during the last election and voted him in again instead of holding him resposible for what is and was going on in Tarrytown
Gargamel October 09, 2012 at 03:43 PM
what is shocking is the naive attitude of Cousin Brucie here. what do you expect? it was ALWAYS about the Benjamins!!!
Mary October 09, 2012 at 03:44 PM
Block the road right after the DPW. That way Tarrytown people can still go to the cleaners and the DPW can have excess to our village!!
Ethel October 09, 2012 at 03:51 PM
Wouldn't it be nice if our elected officials could actually sit down and work with each other, instead of all this constant carping. Says a lot about them that they behave like this, including this letter. The residents of Sleepy Hollow and Tarrytown generally don't distinguish between the two as we go about our daily lives. Yet it seems our politicians are insistent on creating constant conflict. Tarrytown, with it's aggressive legal posturing, and Sleepy ignoring the very real effects this development will have on quality of life in other parts of Sleepy and Tarrytown (and no, a few speed bumps and a shuttle service won't be enough to offset the impact of increasing the residential and working population in Sleepy on such a scale, even if the judges say it's so). This won't be resolved with these amateur hour politicians on both sides. This is a development that will impact the future of both towns for decades, and it has to be done right, as all residents would like it to. These politicians have demonstrated that they can't act like responsible adults.
Gargamel October 09, 2012 at 04:20 PM
Hey, I am a Tarrytowner and what the village did to Sleepy Hollow was dead wrong and costly. I will ask again: how much has been paid on both sides in this craziness? doont't people understand that especially with school taxes we are all losers?
Krista Madsen (Editor) October 09, 2012 at 06:08 PM
Sleepy Hollow estimates maybe $160,000 on both sides, but I'm awaiting both sets of figures. Stay tuned.
wanda October 09, 2012 at 07:32 PM
SOUND LIKE A GREAT IDEA! THAT'S WHAT DREW FIXELL SHOULD HAVE DONE BEFORE THE LAW SUIT.HE LOSES BAD AND NOW HE WANTS TO TALK .
Lighthouse October 09, 2012 at 07:52 PM
Tarrytown needs the money- they are in a mountain of debt. Tarrytown is hurting both villages and preventing the building of great amenities. For example, with this lawsuit, Tarrytown is preventing the building of affordable housing for seniors and village workforce at GM. At the same time, they hypocritically are selling Yankee stadium parking in which numerous cars travel from the north and use Sleepy Hollow infrastructure to get to the Tarrytown train station.
Patricia October 09, 2012 at 09:44 PM
Tarrytown is not an island....People are going to drive through and the roadways are open to the public. You can not pick and choose who drives through the Village. The Village Trustees are being seriously mislead by one or two very unreasonable members and they are following along like blind mice.
John October 10, 2012 at 02:31 PM
As almost every one agrees, IT IS ALL ABOUT THE MONEY!!!!!!! WHO WILL GET THE MOST IN THERE POCKETS.. Its all about the dishonest politicians, and it goes back before these guys were ever elected. There should be some sort of watch group to look back and see what deals were made under the table and hold them all accountable, because what ever deals were made back then is sure to make millions for those who are just sitting back waiting for the rewards, and not even thinking twice about what is going on now. Let's make or find a solution to hold everyone accountable from the beginning, who stand to make money from this even if they are no longer in office but had anything to do with this. they should all be held liable from beginning to end..
Patricia October 10, 2012 at 08:57 PM
Tarrytown is actually doing pretty well financially, they recently received a triple A bond rating.
wanda October 10, 2012 at 09:22 PM
YEAH GREAT A TRIPLE A BOND RATING AND MILLIONS IN PENDING LITIGATION COMPLAINTS
louisvuitton October 15, 2012 at 03:40 AM
Louis Vuitton Handbags outlet||http://www.louisvuittonhandbagoutletss.net/ Coach Factory outlet||http://www.get-coachfactoryoutlets.com/

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »